Grand Masters of Mystery

November 21, 2008

Mystery Writers of America announced yesterday its Grand Masters for 2009: James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton — the first time in three decades that writers have shared this lifetime achievement honor in a single year. (In 1978, Daphne du Maurier, Dorothy B. Hughes, and Ngaio Marsh were honored together.) Complete information is available here and should be posted at the MWA site soon as well.

And looking back to another grand master of mystery: The December 2008/January 2009 issue of BookForum offers some historic perspectives on two upcoming Sherlock Holmes movies, with Robert Downey Jr. and Sacha Baron Cohen each taking a turn under the deerslayer hat (and with Will Ferrell as Dr. Watson in the latter case). Purists — and others — will appreciate the context provided, and the article also starts out with information on the film adaptation of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road.

Add to Facebook: post to facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: