Fall for the Book Announces 2009 Award Winners (And Catches An Honor of Sorts Itself)

April 9, 2009
E.L. Doctorow

E.L. Doctorow

The Fall for the Book Festival — based at George Mason University and taking place Sept. 21-26 throughout Northern Virginia, D.C. and Maryland — has just announced the recipients of the two major award it gives out each year.

Novelist E.L. Doctorow captures the top honor in 2009: the Fairfax Prize for Lifetime Achievement in the Literary Arts. His last novel, The March, won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award, and his new novel, Homer & Langley, will be published on the eve of the festival. He’ll read from that and accept the prize on Thursday evening, September 24, at Mason’s Fairfax, VA, campus.

Earlier in the week, Fall for the Book presents the Mason Award to novelist, poet, and filmmaker Sherman Alexie. The award honors a writer whose work has helped to bring great literature to a wide reading public. Alexie accepts his award on Tuesday evening, September 22, at Mason’s Fairfax campus.

And Fall for the Book has recently earned mention in the staff picks section of Washington City Paper‘s annual Best of D.C. issue. The festival ranked number 2 as best book festival (behind the behemoth that is the National Book Festival), but Mark Athitakis devoted most of the write-up to Fall for the Book’s accomplishments and initiatives. (Watch out, first place; here we come!)

Add to Facebook: post to facebook

One comment

  1. E.L. Doctorow is a master. It’s unbelievable how he easily melds lots of characters in The March for one very cohesive yarn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: